Gratitude Journal April

Despite the weather, April was much better than March. And what things in particular were responsible for this? Split between the children and my creative outputs, I have been finding joy in taking a step back and evaluating what really matters.

I spent the first half of the month really enjoying the Easter break with my girls. We had time at home, combined with a few activities, but I really focused on making sure that the time we spent together was quality time. Everything was at a much more relaxed pace, and yet we still managed to cover lots of ground and not get to the bored stage.

I took time to be that Mummy that I spend a lot of time wanting to be but normally end up losing the plot and being the Mummy that makes me cringe instead. We had lots of time for talking and building relationships, following interests and being inspired.

I also got to meet the wonderful Maddy from Writing Bubble when she came to London for the London Book Fair. She is someone I share an affinity with (we even had matching ‘Mummy coats’!) and she is very inspirational to me in my writing. We managed a good natter over a meal and to be the last ones left in the restaurant! You can’t underestimate the importance of connections with other people.

I started following The Artists Way in April too and that has been a positive influence on what I have been thinking and feeling in respect of my writing. I began with morning pages’ and have amassed over 30000 words, showing me that I can be capable of doing ‘writing’.

Part of the journey has also been a week of reading and media deprivation, which wasn’t the easiest to do practically but it showed me where I don’t get my priorities right and how I could perhaps make some changes.

It is easy to end up spending to much time filling up your days with jobs and chores and must do’s, so that you have little time for other things that mean more to you. This month has definitely been about challenging that and making more effort to do the things that matter to me.

Time is the key here. We are all given the same amount of time and we have to choose how we use it. I have lost time on some things but gained it on others. All the time we are making choices and that may mean a sacrifice somewhere down the road, but not making choices is no longer an option for me. I cannot afford my time to get lost in the detritus of life.

I am grateful for...a little postcard sent to me by a favourite aunt, one of my great supporters (a couple of weeks ago but it just caught my eye on my notice board and I thought I'd share).
I am grateful for…a little postcard sent to me by a favourite aunt, one of my great supporters (a couple of weeks ago but it just caught my eye on my notice board and I thought I’d share).

 

Writing Bubble
Two Tiny Hands
20 Comments Add yours

  1. Ceri says:

    Gorgeous Post! I struggle to make time for the things I love, namely writing. I try so hard but struggle with a whole heap of guilt! I’m going to be trying that little it harder tomorrow after reading this. Thanks for linking up with#sharethejoy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah guilt is such a tricky customer, isn’t it? But do you know what, I am convinced it is the trying that counts, the incremental progress that we make. That takes courage and growth. I hope you have a good day tomorrow. Thanks for stopping by xx

      Like

  2. Coombe Mill says:

    It can be so hard to make time for the things that really matter, but family and me time are important, many other chores, especially around the house feel niggling but less important. Getting the balance right is the secret to a happy life #SharetheJoy

    Like

    1. That’s the difference between important and urgent isn’t it (all management speaky there, if you know what I mean)? Such a tricky thing not to be sucked into urgent rather than important, but the balance of these definitely does improve life. xx

      Like

  3. Nicola Young says:

    I love that you do this. It’s so important to take a close look at the way you live your life and to look back and be thankful for the precious moments. Wish I’d have made it up to London now!

    Like

    1. I really enjoy writing these posts, they give me a real chance to take a step back and review things properly. I want to make sure I keep doing this. Shame you couldn’t come to London, but there’ll be another time. xx

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I agree with Nicola: your practice of noticing, reflecting and being grateful is so helpful for taking stock and realising what’s important. How did you get on with the media deprivation?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Becky! I wouldn’t be without doing every month now, and I think about oftentimes in between. Media deprivation was a positive experience, though not as drastic as I imagined, I wrote a post about it…https://thefillingglass.com/2016/05/01/how-to-hush-the-noise-in-your-brain/ xx

      Like

  5. I may need to check out this Artist’s Way thing if you can be the perfect mum and write 30,000 words! Joking aside, it’s always important to stop and enjoy the time you have with your little ones. Such precious time. I’m always jealous when someone gets to meet an inspiring writer like Maddy – maybe one day …

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh it was fab to meet her! But I’m certainly not a perfect mum, and my word count is rather a lot of random musings! I do recommend TAW though, it is definitely thought provoking and creativity stimulating. Xx

      Like

  6. I so identify with this need to prioritise – and I think I’m getting better at it too! I have basically worked out that I am happy if I feel that I am giving enough quality time to my family and to my novel. There is always lots more that needs to be done too, but by reorganising my days and beginning to filter out what is unimportant I am finding that I’m not falling too far behind in all the other things, even when I don’t make them a priority. I still have a way to go – but then it’s all just one big journey, isn’t it? xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Life is definitely a journey not a destination. The key to enjoying it is knowing where we’re headed so we can set those priorities. I’m interested that you are finding a balance so that even the non-priority things are not getting left behind… give me your secret!!! Xx

      Like

      1. It’s mainly about changing the order I’m doing things in… I try to front load my day with quality novel-writing time and Arthur-time, then I feel less guilty about snatching moments to get other bits done as the day goes on. I wouldn’t say I’ve cracked it though – definitely a work in progress!! xx

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I like that term ‘front-loading’! I do try to do that and yes it does help, maybe I’m more sorted than I give myself credit for! Xx

        Like

  7. Your last post about having a break from media made me think and this post is also really thought provoking. I’m at my happiest when family comes first and I’m able to write, my paid freelancing and cleaning the windows can bring up the rear! Gratitude is a lovely form of happiness, totally agree. x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, I often seem to get told my posts are thought provoking, but I do spend a lot of time thinking so I guess one follows the other! I enjoy life when family come first along with writing too, but somehow that other stuff creeps right in doesn’t it!?! Damn paying the bills and keeping a clean(ish) house😉 xx

      Liked by 1 person

  8. twotinyhands says:

    That’s great that you got to connect with your kids over Easter, quality family time is so important. It’s hard prioritising some times, with the best will in the world we hope it’s right but it’s hard to know what’s best. Thanks for linking up to #abrandnewday x

    Like

    1. Thanks for hosting! It is always hard to know what is best; we are second guessing the future but we need to remember now is important too. x

      Like

  9. I love this post! I wish I could do more of what I want and less of the mondain required stuff. I set my schedule where the big house chores are done 2 days a weeks and the little stuff is done immediately. It seems to free up more time than I had before. #abrandnewday

    Like

    1. Oh there is a never ending list of things to do in my house, I’m not sure two days would cover it! But I agree about just getting the little things done, it does stop you revisiting them over and over again! Thanks for stopping by. xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

