Gratitude Journal March

The irony; this month feels like not a lot has gone right for me, and yet… I reached some of the goals that I set at the beginning of the year (without a time frame)!

So where is the sense in that?

I felt challenged this month. I had things that I felt anxious about, but actually they went well and reiterated to me a few home truths that I needed to hear. I had things I aimed to write about, to digest and share, and actually have several hundred words sitting on my laptop waiting to see the light of day, but somehow that hasn’t quite happened. I had things I was trying to keep up with but I just seemed to lose the thread of thought or conversation.

That is the pattern for this month, things half done, or incomplete, and it leaves me feeling discombobulated (how can you not love that word!) and somehow that I have ‘failed’. But it’s not really failure, it’s just life. Things happen, you make choices, priorities or you have to react to other things. And for everything that gave me a sense of failure, I had something that gave me a sense of success.

I am grateful for what I have achieved, and whilst the things that are incomplete are still there, they are exactly that, still there. I am grateful that life goes on, that I get to try again, to rise to the challenges that face me. I am grateful for the other goals that I have set for myself, and I will turn to them going forward. I am grateful that I will set more goals too, look at the next steps that I can take with my life and my dreams.

I am grateful for my life.

I am grateful for...my first selfie with all my girls. Love them so much, we were enjoying a bit of silliness at bath time! #gratitude
I am grateful for…my first selfie with all my girls. Love them so much, we were enjoying a bit of silliness at bath time! #gratitude
Share the Joy linky at TheJoyChaser.com
Writing Bubble
12 Comments Add yours

  1. Love that you’ve found so much to be grateful in circumstances that you could have seen in a totally ‘glass empty’ way Alice. Loving the selfie too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, definitely felt ‘glass empty’ at times, but I am developing a good habit in positive self-talk!

      Like

  2. I think you’ve hit on something I find problematic about goal-setting here, and generally the high expectations we put on ourselves: that life is rarely linear, and often gets in the way of itself, but in doing so can take us in directions that we aren’t quite expecting but are still things to be celebrated in themselves. I hope everything comes together for you this month – with your powerfully positive outlook it’s hard to see how it won’t 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m not sure that these feelings were directly related to my goals because I wasn’t consciously working on them. But I definitely agree about the high expectations. I love that my view of it all is coming over as powerful, certainly I find it useful to review where I am and what has happened each month, but at times I felt powerless. Obviously I’m getting good at the positive self-talk! Xx

      Like

  3. Carie says:

    Thats a gorgeous selfie and you have a beautifully positive outlook that there is so much gratitude even in a challenging month

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Carie! I love that picture too (hence why I chose it). If I keep telling myself to be positive it’s got to be true;-). X

      Like

  4. maddy@writingbubble says:

    I’m feeling very discombobulated (fab word!) myself this month so I can identify with this post. I feel like there’s so much I need to be doing at the moment and I’m only managing some of it which is quite stressful! But there has been much success in my month too and you’re right to look at the positive. Fab selfie too! Thanks for linking to #WhatImWriting

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, always so much to be done but never enough time (although I’m coming round to the idea that it’s about priorities and making the time on occasions!). I just try not to be too hard on myself. Xx

      Like

  5. Ah, so much I can relate to here. Something I am learning, or at least trying to, is that it’s not a failure to leave something incomplete because you have completed something else instead. Sometimes, life really does just get in the way, and you have to deal with the now x

    Like

    1. I recently wrote that failure was not trying – I think that is so much more important than not completing. I never finish a to-do list, there’s always something left over for the next day! Thanks Sara xx

      Like

  6. Love this Alice and I’ve been feeling a bit that way since coming back from our hols – so many things I want to get back to but jet lag is just not letting me get to them! But being kind to ourselves and celebrating what IS getting done (even if that is just catching up on sleep) is so important. Thank you for reminding me of that and thanks for linking up at #sharethejoy x

    Like

    1. Oh Michelle, getting back from holiday can be such a tricky time; you have so much to catch up on, so many new things that you want to do, and travel fatigue to get over. I hope you are finding your feet now that the week has started afresh. xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

